Eat Clean, Train Dirty

Crossfit | Photography | Cooking | Life

One of those days

2 Comments

So last night after a great WOD with some great people, we got together for a paleo dinner and talked about random things.

Those are the best nights, right?

Oh yeah.

Well, before that happened, I was dealing with drama within a different group of friends.

Have you ever had someone come to you and tell you “No one wants to hangout with me anymore,” or “No one includes me in social gatherings anymore”? I have. And I went through this yesterday with someone who I thought was a good friend of mine.

This person thinks that his way is 100% the only way possible. That his ideals are the only ones that matter. His way or the highway.

Seems a little controlling, right?

And I tried explaining to him, maybe, just maybe, could this be why you’re not included in social events anymore? I mean, coupled with his crude sense of humor and general behavior, sometimes he goes a little overboard. He calls people names thinking it’s funny and he’s being coy, but in fact, it’s rude. This person just doesn’t get it.

Well, our argument took a turn for the worst when he started pushing me to run again. Although this is something I really want to do, I can’t until I get cleared by my doctor because he told me not to run or do high impact movements for a few months. You see, I have really bad plantar fasciitis plus a strained achilles tendon. And yeah, it hurts. A lot. Even though I don’t want to further injure myself and am waiting to get the green light from my doctor, my ‘friend’ keeps telling me that I’m making excuses and to listen to my body not my doctor. Even my coach and one of my best friends will yell at me if they see me doing something that could further injure me.

But what if my body is agreeing with my doctor? What happens then?

Well, this person keeps telling me that the only way I’m going to lose weight is by running. And while I want to lose weight and whatnot, I know that the scale isn’t always the answer. One of my friends explained it the best last night at dinner. She said that weight is just the amount of gravity it takes to keep you on the ground. That’s it!

It doesn’t count for strength.

It doesn’t count for muscle.

It doesn’t count for beauty.

It’s doesn’t define you.

Weight is just a number. A silly little number.

So how do you deal with someone like this? Me, I usually get into an argument with them, eventually telling them to shut up and that they’re stupid and being ignorant.

And that’s exactly what I did.

When you have a goal you want to reach, whether it’s health, fitness, career, relationships, WHATEVER, you can’t let the negatives tie you down.

You have to listen to the people who are going to support you and help you reach your goals no matter how out of reach you think they are. Part of getting stronger physically is getting stronger mentally. If you don’t go out of your comfort zone and try new things, you’re letting those who speak negatively to you win. And you don’t want that.

So what do you do with those people who want to bring you down? Honestly, they’re only hurting themselves by pushing you away. If they really cared about you as a friend, they wouldn’t be breaking you down and telling you you’re stupid and ignorant. If they really were a friend you could talk to and count on, they’d be supportive. Because that’s what friends do.

The friends that matter are the ones that you can text late at night, excited about hitting your 1RM power clean PR and possibly passing your goal for 2014 and respond with “That’s awesome!!! I know you could do it!!!” (Because yeah, that happened yesterday too.)

Oh, and PS I have my girl over at Eat.Pray.WOD. to thank for a lot of this motivation.

Author: Hilary

23 | CrossFit Addict | Photographer | Dog Mom | Kitchen Queen | Animal Lover | Instagrammer | Country Music Lover | Country Born, City Raised | Eat Clean, Train Dirty

2 thoughts on “One of those days

  1. I almost cried. I love you, my bug. I knew you could do it!

  2. That’s so great you realized that you don’t need negative people! Hopefully he sees what he does and turns it around! But right you have a goal and you will reach it the way you know best 😊 keep it up!

Leave a Reply

