Eat Clean, Train Dirty

Crossfit | Photography | Cooking | Life

Woohoo it’s Wednesday!

1 Comment

So it’s been a while. Sorry blog, I kind of let you down.

Anyway……

As many of y’all know this weekend was the Super Bowl. And while I wanted Peyton to lead his Broncos to victory because I support the hometown hero (yay New Orleans), we all know that was an epic fail.

Well I decided to go to a little Super Bowl gathering at a friends’ place and brought some crazy awesome looking cupcakes that a friend made for me.

Screen Shot 2014-02-04 at 7.11.31 PM

Over a month of eating clean and 90/10 Paleo along with the 24-day challenge by Advocare, I thought I could treat myself to a cupcake.

Just one, simple, little, itty bitty cupcake.

Hah. No.

Talk about a shock to your system! I never want to go through that again. Y’all, that cupcake was amazing but I don’t recommend eating super clean and then downing a homemade from scratch (aka lots of sugar and butter) cupcake.

Don’t. Do. It.

So Monday, I tried my hardest to get back into the groove and eat clean again. I barely made it. I nibbled on things here and there but really wasn’t even that hungry, nor did I feel like eating anything.

Even yesterday I could barely do it. I ate bread. I needed it. It was the only thing that didn’t bother me so I honestly don’t care.

Now back to eating clean.

Yesterday I cleaned out the fridge, went to the grocery store and picked up a few things.

I juiced some juice, baked some muffins and food prepped.

Lately I’ve just been mixing things up and juicing them, writing the ingredients down on a post-it note and sticking it on the cabinet and keeping it there for future reference.

The new juice I made is a green veggie juice. Super easy, super simple, super clean.

Green Juice 2.0
– 1 bag spinach leaves
– 3 cucumbers
– 4 large carrots

This mixture made three 10 oz jars and a little leftover.

Now for the fun part.

Muffins!

I know everyone loves muffins, so why not create some that taste absolutely amazing, are clean and Paleo friendly?!

Rise and Shine Muffins

What you need:
– 1/2 cup mashed yam (sweet potato)
– 1/2 raisins
– 1/2 chopped walnuts
– 1/4 cup honey
– 1/8 cup shredded carrots
– 2 eggs
– 3/4 cup almond flour
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 tsp baking powder

What you do:
– Preheat oven to 350* F.
– Combine everything in a large mixing bowl and blend well.
– Coat muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray (or use paper liners) and divide batter among six cups.
– Bake 25-30 minutes or until the muffins are cooked all the way through.
– Allow muffins to cool before serving.

1601530_10203338407200311_234909348_n

So this recipe says it makes six muffins, but mine made eight. And mine were cooked through at 25 minutes.

The recipe that I based this off of came from here

Oh, and Happy Hump Day y’all! The weekend is almost here!

Author: Hilary

23 | CrossFit Addict | Photographer | Dog Mom | Kitchen Queen | Animal Lover | Instagrammer | Country Music Lover | Country Born, City Raised | Eat Clean, Train Dirty

One thought on “Woohoo it’s Wednesday!

  1. Oh those muffins, I am trying them for sure!

Leave a Reply

