Eat Clean, Train Dirty

Crossfit | Photography | Cooking | Life

I really dislike ignorant people. A lot.

Leave a comment

So yeah, I really don’t like ignorant people. In fact, I don’t like them so much that I hate them too. And before you get your feathers ruffled about another Duck Dynasty rant, cool your jets. This is a Crossfit blog. I’m talking about those people ignorant about Crossfit.

So I went out with a friend of mine last night. I hadn’t seen her in a while and she was going to meet up with some people so I figured I’d tag along. No big deal, right? Wrong. We sit down at Happy’s and start talking about different things, and when I declined another drink, I got judged for it.

“Why not?”

“It’s just one more drink.”

“Oh come on, it’s one drink. What does it matter?”

Well you know what, it matters a lot. I don’t drink a lot, and when I do decide to “let loose” I stop at like, 2. I know, I party hard.

Well, they began asking why and I simply said that I don’t really like treating my body badly. I’m a health nut and one drink is enough for me.

You know what happened next?

“You Crossfit don’t you.”

Out of nowhere. Neither my friend nor myself brought it up. It just came up in the conversation on it’s own, which was incredibly weird.

So I responded that I did, and that I was going to continue to not need another drink for the rest of the night.

“Man, y’all are all the same. Thinking you’re better than everyone else because you go to the gym and snatch, do front squats and burpees. We did that sh*t in football.”

That set me off like dynamite. I didn’t respond though, just sat there in the corner of the booth making awkward obvious eye contact with my friend, visibly mad.

Do I think I’m better than you? No. Absolutely not. I don’t know your life or honestly want to anymore. But you know who I am better than? The person I used to be.

I don’t think I will ever understand the hate for Crossfit. I will admit, I was a little scared to start Crossfit back in April. Hell, I had wanted to start in December 2012 but I kept putting it off. Then when I finally bit the bullet, walked into the box and started working out, I realized that Crossfit is where I belonged.

I think a lot of people who are ignorant about Crossfit express this for a few reasons.

They think Crossfit is dangerous and you will inherently get rhabdo. WRONG. Do Crossfit properly and listen to your body and you won’t.

Crossfit is going to bulk you up (talking to the ladies here).

Do they look bulked up? Didn’t think so. That’s toned y’all.

Everyone who Crossfit HAS to eat Paleo or Zone. Hah. That’s funny. There are lots of people I know who eat Paleo, either strict or 70/30, 80/20, 90/10. When I started Crossfit, I just ate kind of healthy. Then I started eating Paleo, and I’m not going to lie, I saw a definite difference. But whatever, it’s their life, let them live it!

Lastly, the cult atmosphere. People say that Crossfit is a cult. You drink the koolaid, join a box and BOOM, you’re a member of the cult. Eh, let them think that. But you know what this cult does? Support you. Workout with you. Help you. Guide you. This “cult” that non-Crossfitters judge do so out of ignorance*. The people I workout with have become my friends. We socialize together, hangout, help each other, push each other. If you’re one of the last people finishing up a killer WOD, would you rather just hear the beats of the music playing through the gym or the screams of support from your fellow Crossfitters?

“Push it!”

“You’re almost there!”

“Finish strong!”

I’m pretty sure the vast majority of people would choose the screams of support. Just sayin’.

Don’t be ignorant. Don’t knock it before you try it. Just live your life and let everyone else live theirs. You don’t have to be all up in everyone else’s business.

And lastly, don’t let ignorant people push you down. Stand tall and pick up that weight again.

 

*This sentence was not meant to make you think we’re better than you, but I know it sounds that way so I’m just letting you know that that’s not the case.

Author: Hilary

23 | CrossFit Addict | Photographer | Dog Mom | Kitchen Queen | Animal Lover | Instagrammer | Country Music Lover | Country Born, City Raised | Eat Clean, Train Dirty

Leave a Reply

