Eat Clean, Train Dirty

Crossfit | Photography | Cooking | Life

In search of Mr. Right?

Leave a comment

I think the vast majority of girls and “young women” I know will tell you that we’re all looking for Mr. Right.

Someone compatible. Someone who enjoys your hobbies. Someone who gets you and respects you. We all want it right? So why does it take some people a lot longer to find said person, while other people are seemingly only single for a few weeks between their significant other? Because they settle.

And Mr. Wrong is what happens when you settle.

I’ve seen far too many of my girl friends do this. They don’t like being alone so they just pick right back up with someone new, even if that person is just a temporary placeholder. Seen it far too many times.

I’m not really one to talk though. One serious relationship and I’ve been single since. That was 4 years ago. I’ve always enjoyed my independence, and you know what? I get criticized for it. Why do people think it’s not okay for a young woman to just be single and enjoy her independence these days? I’ve already had my share of Mr. Wrongs. I just want to wait. I know the next guy I date might be another Mr. Wrong, but you know what? There’s a chance he could be Mr. Right.

So what makes Mr. Right Mr. Right?

Thought Catalog brings up 5 points.

1. The myth that “all guys are the same” is in fact, a myth.
2. Have standards but be realistic.
3. Sometimes, timing really is everything.
4. Do not limit yourself to your environments.
5. Give him a chance because you never know.

I agree with ALL of these.

No two guys are the same. Ever. Personality? Different. Work ethic? Different. How they treat their bodies? Different. How they treat the women in their life? Different. Every. Single. One. Is different.

Everyone needs to have standards, but you can’t rely on Channing Tatum and Adam Levine to set your standards. You can’t rely on what you see on TV or in the movies to what happens in real life. You have to do you.

Timing? Have you ever tried to force a cap off of a bottle and had the bottle break in your hands? Yeah. Try doing that with a relationship. You can’t force these things. It just has to happen. Give it TIME. (It’s so difficult for me to write that out because people keep telling me this.)

You definitely can’t limit yourself. Why? Timing might be perfect and you walk out of some random store you’ve never been in or some random city you’ve never explored and you might end up meeting Mr. Right. Get out of your comfort zone (something else people tend to tell me a lot). He could be the guy holding the elevator open for you or hands you your coffee in the morning at the drive-thru.

You never know until you try. It’s like beating a dead horse with how often my mother tells me this. If you never say yes, you will never know. Don’t kid yourself. You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take (yeah, I know, how cliche).

Now, some things I’d probably add, just personally me. My Mr. Right? He should respect his body and understand that being healthy is part of life. My lifestyle has personally completely flipped. I like being healthy. Healthy is who I’ve become and Mr. Right should respect that. Which brings me to my next point.

Respect.

Every woman needs to be respected. Call me old fashioned or whatever, but when a guy holds open a door for me, brings me flowers or even walks me to my door, I still get butterflies in my stomach. It just feels so right. It also feels great when a guy picks up the phone and calls you and asks you out on a date, not to just “hangout”. That’s respectful.

I’m probably going overboard with this one, but Mr. Right isn’t necessarily going to sleep with you on the first date. I mean, a lot of guys will want to. Let’s be real, guys think about sex pretty consistently, but Mr. Right should respect you and your decisions and he should be ok with waiting until you’re comfortable with it.

I absolutely love getting all dressed up and going to dinner with someone who can rock a suit. There is nothing more attractive than a guy who wears a suit well (ok maybe that’s a lie because Crossfiters can look pretty damn good covered in sweat and dirt).

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only girl who experiences this either. At least I hope I’m not.

Author: Hilary

23 | CrossFit Addict | Photographer | Dog Mom | Kitchen Queen | Animal Lover | Instagrammer | Country Music Lover | Country Born, City Raised | Eat Clean, Train Dirty

Leave a Reply

