Eat Clean, Train Dirty

Crossfit | Photography | Cooking | Life

Is vodka paleo?

2 Comments


While I personally stick to an 80/20 paleo diet, I also try to eat gluten free whenever I can. This includes drinking. Thankfully, I’m not a big fan of alcohol, but I do have a drink or two when I’m out with friends every now and then. I always find myself asking other people, or even myself, “is this paleo?”

Ok, so I know there are SOME people who need a little kick of something to survive the abundance of family members around for the holidays.

My go to? It’s a toss up between Tito’s and Ketel One. Sadly, neither of these are technically paleo, and I always cut it with water to try and make up for that.

Tito’s Handmade Vodka is made right in the heart of the United States, well, kind of. It’s made in Austin, Texas. The only thing that strict paleoholics might have an issue with is that while it claims to be gluten free, it’s made from corn. While I personally don’t have a problem with this, I know some people might.

Ketel One, while not gluten free, is super smooth and clean. Distilled in the Netherlands, it’s made from wheat. So it’s neither paleo nor gluten free.

I’m trying to switch to a paleo-friendly vodka so I’m going to start changing my pickings when it comes to vodka.

So let’s learn about vodka.

Vodka is a distilled alcoholic drink made from grains, potatoes, soybeans, grapes, rice or sugar beets. Since it’s distilled, technically there shouldn’t be any gluten left in it but there’s always the chance for cross-contamination and whatnot. Because of this, it’s always a good idea to go for a non-grain based vodka such as potato vodka instead of wheat vodka if you’re trying to stick with a strict paleo diet.

Alcohol is definitely extra calories, and some strict “my body is a temple” types might not like to drink (I was one of those, I get it), some might just want a drink every now and then (like me now).

Some of the best paleo friendly vodkas are those made of coconut, fruits, honey, and potatoes.

Grape Vodka – Ciroc

Potato Vodka – RWB, Chopin

Other alcohol related shenanigans

To manage your body’s insulin response to the sugars found in alcohol, mix spirits like tequila or vodka with soda water, ice, and a squeeze of lemon or lime juice. Avoid fruit juices (like cranberry juice) which are basically liquid sugar, and tonic water, which is also high in sugar.

Other paleo-friendly options are red wine, white wine, champagne, brandy, cognac and tequila. Winos should choose the least sweet wines when possible. These include Pinot Noir, Cabernet, Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc and Albarino. Steer clear of beer, bourbon, gin, grain-based vodkas, scotch and whiskey.

Remember, before you pour yourself a glass of any type of alcohol, consider your health goals and overall eating habits. Only then can you make the smart choice about whether or not you should drink. Keep in mind that your liver can’t help you with fat burning if it’s busy detoxifying alcohol (why I don’t drink a lot).

Any active person can’t maintain a high level of health if they’re drinking alcohol frequently or in large quantities. You know that happy place you get after you hit a buzz? It puts stress on your liver. This then creates a strong insulin response and dehydrates your cells.

Always drink extra water when you planning on having a few drinks. Stay hydrated!

And please, please, PLEASE don’t drink and drive! You drink, you drive, you lose!

Author: Hilary

23 | CrossFit Addict | Photographer | Dog Mom | Kitchen Queen | Animal Lover | Instagrammer | Country Music Lover | Country Born, City Raised | Eat Clean, Train Dirty

2 thoughts on “Is vodka paleo?

  1. As a somewhat new 21 year old I want to thank you so much for the post, although I do not drink very often at all (I have maybe twice since my birthday in September lol) I had no idea that I needed to watch out for certain vodkas to continue my gluten-free diet (Gluten Intolerant!).

  2. Pingback: Taste of Ciroc: Ciroc Blu | Lifestyle of the #Fresh & #Famous

Leave a Reply

