Eat Clean, Train Dirty

Crossfit | Photography | Cooking | Life

Don’t let anyone knock you down. Ever.

Leave a comment

So I recently went home to visit my parents in New Orleans and hangout with some people I haven’t seen in a while. Well, I was running through some photos that I needed to edit and was bouncing between edits and Facebook when my mom walked behind me. At the time, I was looking through photos from a recent CrossFit competition that some athletes I workout with participated in. Her first response?

“Oh my god, look at her legs!” and with that, a look of disgust on her face.

Do you know how that makes me feel? As young, aspiring CrossFitter (yes I drank the Kool-Aid) who can’t live without CrossFit? It felt like a punch in the stomach or a slap across the face. Here I am, trying to better myself, eating clean and training dirty, and my mom is criticizing the bodies of fellow CrossFitters and friends  (if you can’t tell by now, she’s the kind of person who doesn’t think young women should lift, let alone lift heavy). These are people who I want to and aim to become.

cf

This one girl in particular (the one with the “massive legs”) is one amazing athlete. She’s always working to better herself and push her body to its limits. And to hear my mom criticize her body just hurt. If there was a way to convey to her that not everyone should be as skinny as she is, I would.

I would KILL to look like this girl. She’s so in shape it’s ridiculous. I work hard, play hard. Eat clean, train dirty. Live my life and respect myself.

Is it too much to ask for a little motivation from family every once and a while?!

How do you convince someone that their opinion is just that, their opinion, and not fact?

4vrbg

Author: Hilary

23 | CrossFit Addict | Photographer | Dog Mom | Kitchen Queen | Animal Lover | Instagrammer | Country Music Lover | Country Born, City Raised | Eat Clean, Train Dirty

Leave a Reply

